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Direct Marketers and the Virginia Sales Tax
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Gordon E. Groover, Extension Economist, Farm Management, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics, Virginia Tech
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Historically, farmers have not paid sales tax on many
purchases used in agricultural production, nor have
they been concerned with collecting sales tax because
they have sold a commodity product to a wholesaler
or middleman. Now, however, many Virginia farmers
have entered into the realm of “Direct Marketing” by
face-to-face or Web-based sales directly to the cus-
tomer via roadside stands, their websites, farmers’
markets, U-pick sales, and community supported agri-
culture (CSA). The items sold may include produce,
meats, further processed foods (for example, jams,
jelly, and jerky), hay, farm crafts, and other products.
This is in contrast to tradi-
tional wholesale sales of
farm products, such as live
cattle at an auction market
and/or grain sales to a local
elevator. These items are
then further processed or
combined with other com-
modities for final sale to the
“end-user” or the person
consuming the good.

When farmers sell retail or
to the end-user, they must
collect sales tax on the gross
sales price of all retail sales.
For the purpose of sales tax
rules, farmers making direct
sales are treated like all retail
merchants and are obligated
to collect and remit the sales tax on all retail sales to
each customer. Retail sales can be thought of as the sale
to the end user as opposed to a wholesaler. There are
no/limited exceptions or special circumstances allowed
for farmers selling their own production except for
occasional sales.! The tax must be separately stated
and added to the sales price or charge. For clarification,
consider this example, a farmer direct marketing veg-
ctables cannot sell summer squash for $1.00/1b includ-

ing the sales tax. By law, farmers must charge $0.975/
1b for the squash plus $0.025 in sales tax. The Virginia
Department of Taxation is the state agency responsible
for ensuring that this occurs. See Figure 1, a flowchart
defining of when farmers must collect sales tax.

Individuals, partnerships, corporations, etc. must
file for a Certificate of Registration if starting a busi-
ness in Virginia or desiring to conduct business as a
dealer by selling directly to the consumer. The farmer
must register with the state by filing State Form R1,
Combined Registration Application Form (www.tax.
virginia.gov/taxforms/Busi-
ness/Registration/R-1.pdf),
and must collect and pay the
tax due on retail sales. Once
registered, the farmer will
be assigned a Virginia tax
identification number that
will be used when conduct-
ing business with the state.
If your application indicates
that you will be collecting
sales tax, the department
will send you a Virginia
Certificate of Registration
for sales tax. This certificate
permits sales tax collection,
and allows the farmer to
issue and receive exemp-
tion certificates. For example, if Fred Farmer sells hay
to Frank Farmer to feed Frank’s Friesians, then Fred
Farmer’s sale to Frank Farmer is exempt from sales tax
(apologies to Dr. Seuss). However, if Fred Farmer sells
the next load of hay to Paul Pleasure Pony owner then
Fred Farmer must collect and remit the state sales tax.
The Virginia Certificate of Registration must be dis-
played at your place of business. The farmer should also

!Occasional Sales: Defined as three or fewer transactions in a year. Sales at flea markets, fairs, etc. often involve multiple transactions and are generally not

considered occasional.
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apply for a Federal Tax Identification Number (FEIN)
by going directly to the IRS (www.irs.gov/businesses/
small/article/0,,id=98350,00.html).

Any business subject to collecting sales tax must sub-
mit a monthly report to the Virginia Department of
Taxation along with any collected sales tax. The report
must be submitted by the 20th of the following month
whether or not any taxable sales actually occurred for
that month. The report and the appropriate taxes are
submitted using Form ST-9. Form ST-9 and instruc-
tions can be found at: www.tax.virginia.gov/taxforms/
Business/Sales%20and%20Use%20Tax/ST-9, %20
ST-94.pdf. Once a business is registered, the Depart-
ment of Taxation will send a booklet of Form ST-9s
for the business’s convenience. A direct marketer must
calculate sales of both food and non-food items and
determine the appropriate tax to remit. The Depart-
ment of Taxation realizes that collecting, accounting
for, and remitting sales tax requires substantial effort
and expense by businesses. Any business remitting
sales tax is eligible for compensation for the neces-
sary accounting and paying of the collected sales tax
provided that the ST-9 is filed in a timely manner. The
compensation is in the form of a decreasing sliding rate
based on the amount of taxable sales during the month.
The Form ST-9 worksheet walks you through the sales
tax on food, the general sales tax, and the discount or
compensation you are allowed to keep.

As 0f 2008, sales-tax rates fall into two basic categories
that farmers selling retail need to be aware of. These are
food and nonfood categories. The basic sales tax for
nonfood items is 5 percent of gross sales and is com-
prised of 4 percent for the state and 1 percent for the
locality. Food sales are taxed at a total rate of 2.5 per-
cent of gross sales, which is comprised of 1.5 percent
for the state and 1 percent for the locality. Department
of Taxation Bulletin 5-782 discusses the sale of eligible
food items subject to the reduced state tax rate of 1.5
percent as are deemed eligible under the federal food

stamp definition. Please note: Sales taxes are not lev-
ied on food stamps and Women, Infants, and Children
(WIC) drafts purchases of eligible items? (Virginia Tax
Administrative Code: 23VAC10-210-6070).

Many direct marketers also have the opportunity to
sell to a wholesaler or further-processor in addition
to their retail customers. The only way a farmer does
not have to collect sales tax from someone purchas-
ing product for resale is if that person provides Form
ST-10 (Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption).
Form ST-10 and all Virginia tax forms can be ordered
or printed from the Virginia Business Tax Forms and
Instructions website at:  www.tax.virginia.gov/site.
cfin?alias=businessformorders. Form ST-10 can be
printed directly by going to www.tax.virginia.gov/tax-
forms/Business/Sales%20and%20Use%20Tax/ST-10.

pdf.

The sales tax applies to regular or recurring sales of
farm products by farmers or peddlers at public markets,
roadside stands, farms, etc. There is a provision for the
occasional sale where you do not collect sales tax, but
this is intended for the truly occasional sale, defined as
three or fewer separate transactions within one calendar
year, providing the activity does not require a Certifi-
cate of Registration. Because sales at fairs, flea markets,
etc. generally involve multiple individual sales they are
not considered occasional sales.

The laws governing Sales and Use Tax are generally
straightforward, i.e. “If you are selling retail, then you
must collect sales tax.” However, an individual farmer
often has unique questions specific to his operation. To
address specific questions, the Department of Taxation
suggests that you review the public documents on the
Department’s Tax Policy Library (www.policylibrary.
tax.virginia.gov/OTP/Policy.nsf) or write the Tax Com-
missioner for a ruling.

Complete information on Virginia Sales and Use Tax
can be obtained at the Virginia Department of Taxation
website: www.tax.virginia.gov/ Use the Business Link
to reach the Sales and Use Tax.

2The Virginia Department of Taxation defines food based on the federal food stamp definition of “food for home consumption” in order to determine foods
that will qualify for the reduced sales tax rate (www.tax.virginia.gov/mobiletax/businessFAQ3.cfm#food). See the partial list from the Virginia Department of
Social Services. Items that can be purchased with food stamps are: food or food products meant to be eaten by people; vegetable seeds and food producing
plants, roots, and trees for family consumption; baby formula, diabetic, and diet foods; edible items used in preparing or preserving food such as spices and
herbs, pectin, and shortening: water and ice labeled for human consumption: and snack foods. Items that cannot be purchased with food stamps are: prepared
hot foods in grocery stores; any prepared food (hot or cold) sold and meant to be eaten at the store; alcoholic beverages and tobacco; cleaning products, paper
products, toiletries, and cooking utensils; pet foods; items for food preservation such as canning jars and lids, freezer containers, or food wrapping paper;
medicines, vitamins, or minerals; and items for gardening such as fertilizer and peat moss (www.dss.state.va.us/benefit/foodstamp.html#buying).



Figure 1: Sales tax decision tree
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"'Middleman = wholesaler, reseller, stockyard, food processor, grain elevator, hay broker, neighbor buying tomatoes to turn into salsa for sale.

*Register Businesses: State Form RI, Federal EIN.

3Tax Rate: Food purchased for home consumption = 2.5% (1.5% goes to the State + 1% goes to the Locality). Food Items are defined by the Food Stamp Act
of 1978. Nonfood = 5% (4% goes to the state + 1% goes to the locality).

“Mixed sale such as a gift basket containing food and non-food items — intent and the predominance of one item can help make the determination, e.g., a gift
basket with ceramic figurines with a jar of jam is probably considered nonfood while a gift basket with food stuffs (processed or unprocessed) with a ceramic
figurine as decoration is probably considered food.

’Occasional Sales: Defined as three or fewer transactions in a year. Sales at flea markets, fairs, etc. often involve multiple transactions and are generally not
considered occasional.
°Food stamps and Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) drafts: Effective October 1, 1986, the tax does not apply to tangible personal property purchased by

individuals with food coupons (“food stamps”) issued by the U.S. Department of Agriculture under the Food Stamp Program or drafts (WIC drafts) issued
through the Virginia Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children. (Virginia Tax Administrative Code: 23VAC10-210-6070).



